Ice Hockey: 2016-17 key dates, information and players to watch

294
Danny Tiggart on Tuesday Jan. 12, 2016 at Family Sports Center. Photo by Gabriel Christus/Aurora Sentinel
Grandview senior Danny Taggart led the Cherry Creek co-op team in both goals (16) and assists (23) during the 2015-16 ice hockey regular season. Taggart is one of the players to watch on the two programs with Aurora players for the 2016-17 season. (Photo by Gabriel Christus/Aurora Sentinel)

AURORA | A look at key dates, information and players to watch for teams with Aurora players in the 2016-17 ice hockey season:

Courtney Oakes is Aurora Sentinel Sports Editor. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or [email protected] Twitter: @aurorasports. FB: Aurora Prep Sentinel

2016-17 AURORA ICE HOCKEY KEY DATES, INFORMATION

Key dates: Nov. 11 — First practice allowed; Nov. 30 — First contests allowed; Feb. 18 — Regular season completed; Feb. 21-22 — First round of playoffs; Feb. 24 — Second round of playoffs; March 3 — State semifinals at University of Denver; March 6 — State championship game University of Denver

Aurora players to watch: Cade Alcock, D, sr., Regis Jesuit; Michael Baer, F, sr., Regis Jesuit; Billy Bostwick, F, sr., Cherry Creek (Eaglecrest); Brandon Cyrus, F, sr., Cherry Creek (Grandview); Kyle Englert, G, jr., Cherry Creek (Grandview); Jacob Harding, D, sr., Cherry Creek; Garret Glaspy, D, sr., Cherry Creek; Sam Harris, F, sr., Cherry Creek; Connor Kilkenny, F, sr., Regis Jesuit; Diego Lovato, F, sr., Cherry Creek (Grandview); Kyle Nelson, F, sr., Regis Jesuit; Shane Ott, Regis Jesuit; Nolan Sargent, Regis Jesuit; Jamie Stokes, F, sr., Cherry Creek; Danny Taggart, D, jr., Cherry Creek (Grandview); Wyatt Verity, Regis Jesuit; Joe Whitmore, F, sr., Cherry Creek (Smoky Hill)

Aurora coaches: Cherry Creek co-0p — Jeff Mielnicki; Regis Jesuit — Dan Woodley

Aurora 2015-16 state tournament qualifiers: Regis Jesuit (won state championship), Cherry Creek (lost in quarterfinals)

Conferences: Foothills — CHERRY CREEK, Dakota Ridge, Denver East, Lewis-Palmer, Monarch, Mountain Vista, Ralston Valley, REGIS JESUIT; Peak — Aspen, Battle Mountain, Cheyenne Mountain, Columbine, Doherty, Heritage, Pine Creek, Resurrection Christian; Pinnacle — Air Academy, Chatfield, Fort Collins, Kent Denver, Liberty, Standley Lake, Steamboat, Summit; Highlands — Castle View, Coronado, Crested Butte, Mullen, Palmer, Pueblo County, Rampart, Valor Christian

CherryCreekLogo
CHERRY CREEK CO-OP

Cherry Creek co-op schedule (home games in all caps, played at Family Sports Center): Friday, Dec. 2 — vs. Aspen at Aspen Ice Garden, 6 p.m; Saturday, Dec. 3 — vs. Valor Christian at Ice Ranch, 6:30 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 9 — vs. Ralston Valley at APEX, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 10 — DOHERTY, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 16 — LEWIS-PALMER, 5:40 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 17 — RESURRECTION CHRISTIAN, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 6 — vs. Denver East at DU-Joy Burns, 3 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 7 — DAKOTA RIDGE, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 20 — MOUNTAIN VISTA, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 21 — vs. Monarch at Boulder Valley Ice, 6:50 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 27 — REGIS JESUIT, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 28 — RALSTON VALLEY, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 3 — DENVER EAST, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 4 — vs. Regis Jesuit, 5:30 p.m. at Family Sports Center; Wednesday, Feb. 8 — MONARCH, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 11 — vs. Dakota Ridge at The Edge-East, 6:15 p.m.; Tuesday, Feb. 14 — vs. Pueblo County at Pueblo Ice Arena, 6 p.m.; Thursday, Feb. 16 — vs. Mountain Vista at South Suburban-Delio, 7:10 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 17 — vs. Lewis-Palmer at CSC (Monument Ice Rinks), 8 p.m.

REGIS JESUIT
REGIS JESUIT

Regis Jesuit schedule (home games in all caps, played at Family Sports Center unless otherwise noted): Friday, Dec. 2 — vs. Lewis-Palmer at CSC (Monument Ice Rinks), 8 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 3 — LEWIS-PALMER. 5:30 p.m.; Tuesday, Dec. 6 — STEAMBOAT SPRINGS at the Ice Ranch, 2:40 p.m.; Wednesday, Dec. 7 — HERITAGE, 7:50 p.m. Friday, Dec. 16 — vs. Aspen at Lewis Ice Arena, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 17 — DENVER EAST, 5:30 p.m.; Wednesday, Jan. 4 — VALOR CHRISTIAN, 7:50 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 7 — MONARCH, 5:30 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 20 — vs. Ralston Valley at APEX, 6:30 p.m.; Wednesday, Jan. 25 — vs. Dakota Ridge at The Edge-West, 6 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 27 — vs. Cherry Creek at Family Sports Center, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 28 — MOUNTAIN VISTA, 5:30 p.m..; Wednesday, Feb. 1 — DAKOTA RIDGE, 7:50 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 4 — CHERRY CREEK, 5:30 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 10 — vs. Mountain Vista at South Suburban-Delio, 8:30 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 11 — RALSTON VALLEY, 5:30 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 17 — vs. Monarch at Boulder Valley Ice, 5:40 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 18 — vs. Denver East at the Sports Stable, 8:10 p.m.