Ice Hockey: 2015-16 key dates, information and players to watch

169
Joe Whitmore (Smoky Hill), left, is one of the Cherry Creek co-op ice hockey team's players to watch in the 2015-16 season as the Bruins seek to make a run at a second consecutive state championship. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Aurora Sentinel)
Joe Whitmore (Smoky Hill), left, is one of the Cherry Creek co-op ice hockey team’s players to watch in the 2015-16 season as the Bruins seek to make a run at a second consecutive state championship. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Aurora Sentinel)

2015-16 ICE HOCKEY KEY DATES, INFORMATION

ICE HOCKEY
ICE HOCKEY

Key dates: Nov. 12 — First practice allowed; Dec. 1 — First contests allowed; Feb. 20 — Regular season completed; Feb. 26 — First round of playoffs; Feb. 27 — Second round of playoffs; March 3 — State semifinals at Budweiser Events Center (Loveland); March 5 — State championship game at Budweiser Events Center (Loveland)

Aurora players to watch: Cade Alcock, D, jr., Regis Jesuit; Spencer Chuck, D, sr., Regis Jesuit; Sam Gartner, G, sr., Regis Jesuit; Jacob Harding, F, jr., Cherry Creek; Sam Harris, F, jr., Cherry Creek; Blake Hoffman, D, jr., Cherry Creek (Grandview); Bret Jahde, G, jr., Regis Jesuit; Jack Johnson, F, sr., Regis Jesuit; Jack Kilkenny, F, sr., Regis Jesuit; Carmine Lonardo, D, sr., Regis Jesuit; Joe LoSasso, F, sr., Cherry Creek (Rangeview); Scout Stalcup, G, sr., Cherry Creek (Eaglecrest); Danny Taggart, D, jr., Cherry Creek (Grandview); Joe Whitmore, F, sr., Cherry Creek (Smoky Hill); Cale Woodley, F, sr., Regis Jesuit

Aurora coaches: Cherry Creek co-0p — Jeff Mielnicki; Regis Jesuit — Dan Woodley

Aurora 2014-15 state tournament qualifiers: Cherry Creek (won state championship), Regis Jesuit (lost in semifinals)

Conferences: Foothills — Aspen, Battle Mountain, Chatfield, CHERRY CREEK, Columbine, Dakota Ridge, Kent Denver, Monarch, Mullen, Ralston Valley, REGIS JESUIT, Resurrection Christian, Standley Lake, Steamboat Springs, Summit; Peak — Air Academy, Castle View (new), Cheyenne Mountain, Coronado, Denver East, Doherty, Heritage, Lewis-Palmer, Liberty, Mountain Vista, Palmer, Pine Creek, Pueblo County, Rampart, Valor Christian

CherryCreekLogo
CHERRY CREEK CO-OP

CHERRY CREEK CO-OP SCHEDULE

Home games in all caps (played at Family Sports Center): Thursday, Dec. 3 — vs. Kent Denver at University of Denver (Burns), 3 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 5 — vs. Mullen at The Edge (East), 8:30 p.m.; Thursday, Dec. 10 — vs. Summit at Stephen C. West, 6 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 12 — RAMPART, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 18 — ASPEN, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 2 — PALMER, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 8 — BATTLE MOUNTAIN, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 9 — vs. Dakota Ridge at The Edge (East), 6:15 p.m.; Thursday, Jan. 14 — vs. Heritage at Delio, 5:10 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 15 — STANDLEY LAKE, 8 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 22 — vs. Columbine at The Edge (East), 8:30 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 23 — MONARCH, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 29 — vs. Resurrection Christian at NoCo, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 30 — RALSTON VALLEY, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 5 — REGIS JESUIT, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 6 — AIR ACADEMY, 3:15 p.m.; Wednesday, Feb. 10 — CHATFIELD, 6:50 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 13 — vs. Steamboat Springs at Howelson, 3 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 20 — MOUNTAIN VISTA, 3:15 p.m.

Regis Jesuit
REGIS JESUIT

REGIS JESUIT SCHEDULE

Home games in all caps (played at Family Sports Center):Friday, Dec. 4 — at Lewis-Palmer, 5:15 p.m.; Tuesday, Dec. 8 — vs. Kent Denver at University of Denver (Burns), 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 11 — RESURRECTION CHRISTIAN, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 12 — vs. Columbine at The Edge (East), 6:15 p.m.; Friday, Dec. 18 — vs. Heritage at Delio, 6:20 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 19 — vs. Steamboat Springs at Howelson, 3 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 9 — ASPEN, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 15 — CHATFIELD, 5:45 p.m.; Monday, Jan. 18 — vs. Summit at Stephen C. West, 6:30 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 22 — STANDLEY LAKE, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 23 — MULLEN, 5:45 p.m.; Monday, Jan. 25 — vs. Denver East at Big Bear South, 8:30 p.m.; Friday, Jan. 29 — AIR ACADEMY, 5:45 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 5 — vs. Cherry Creek at Family Sports Center, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 6 — MONARCH, 5:30 p.m.; Thursday, Feb. 11 — vs. Ralston Valley at APEX, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 13 — BATTLE MOUNTAIN, 3:15 p.m.; Friday, Feb. 19 — MOUNTAIN VISTA, 5:45 p.m.; Saturday, Feb. 20 — vs. Dakota Ridge at The Edge (East), 8:30 p.m.

Courtney Oakes is Sports Editor of the Aurora Sentinel. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or [email protected] Twitter: @aurorasports. FB: Aurora Prep Sentinel