Girls Lacrosse: Now is the time for DI-loaded Regis Jesuit team


Even with Missy Franklin taking part, Regis Jesuit’s Girls Division athletic signing ceremony in November had a decided lacrosse flavor to it.

Five Raiders from coach Billy Corbett’s team were honored for finalizing their commitments to Division I programs, the payoff for their hard work as well as the Regis Jesuit’s recent rise.

The celebration was a precursor to the senior season for the five — Kathryn Blumhardt and Erin Schilmoeller (Oregon), Erin Sungelo (Yale), Courtney Gielow (Cal-Berkley) Maddy Krause (Colorado) — who have seen the program evolve from one that struggled to get to .500 in the past to one that went 14-3 last season.

The Raiders got out to a 4-0 start to the new season, scoring 61 goals in the process and looking the part of a team that could very well make it to the final four at the University of Denver in late May if they can sustain momentum.

Cherokee Trail has another growing program that hopes to take another step forward this season under new coach Janell Myers, an All-American midfielder for Corbett when he coached at Smoky Hill in 2004.

Graduated Nicole Morris helped the Cougars grow and sophomore Amanda Geary and junior Shea Butler — both all-city selections last season — have grabbed the reigns of this season’s team, along with junior goalie Kati Read.

Geary scored 21 goals as a freshman, but already has 28 through the Cougars’ first seven games of this season, while Butler’s 18 goals have doubled her total from a year ago.

Grandview has a new coach as well in Kevin Mortimer, who saw significant development in the team over the summer.

The senior trio of Taylor Arnold, Serena Johnson and Alex Smith give the Wolves a veteran core as a number of younger players learn the demands of playing at the varsity level.

Eaglecrest, Overland and Rangeview are off to slow starts.

Reach Sports Editor Courtney Oakes at [email protected] or 303-750-7555


Playoff qualifiers determined: May 4; Semifinals: May 18 at University of Denver; State championship game: May 22 at University of Denver

Aurora players to watch: Taylor Arnold, Grandview, sr.; Kathryn Blumhardt, Regis Jesuit, sr.; Emma Bohn, Regis Jesuit, sr. (GK); Shea Butler, Cherokee Trail, jr.; Amanda Geary, Cherokee Trail, soph.; Courtney Gielow, Regis Jesuit, sr.; Nia Harper, Overland, jr.; Michaela Hinton, Overland, jr.; Hannah Holton, Smoky Hill, jr.; Serena Johnson, Grandview, sr.; Simone Kull, Smoky Hill, soph. (GK); Skylur Marshall, Smoky Hill, jr.; Raelyn Mercer, Cherokee Trail, jr.; Lexi Ortt, Cherokee Trail, soph.; Kati Read, Cherokee Trail, jr. (GK); Kathleen Roe, Regis Jesuit, fr.; Erin Schilmoeller, Regis Jesuit, sr.; Alex Smith, Grandview, sr.; Ashley Stevenson, Smoky Hill, fr.; Erin Sungelo, Regis Jesuit, sr.