Key dates: Aug. 11 — Practice begins; Aug. 14 — Regular season begins; Sept. 25 — Class 5A boys league play completed; Sept. 26 — 5A boys regionals determined; Oct. 4 — 5A regionals completed; Oct. 9-11 — State championships (5A, Gates Tennis Center, Denver; 4A, Pueblo City Park)

Class 5A Regionals: Region 1 (Centennial League host) — Centennial No. 1, Colorado Springs Metro No. 2, Front Range No. 4, EMAC No. 4, Continental No. 6, Jeffco No. 6, Front Range No. 10; Region 2 (Front Range League host) — Front Range No. 1, Colorado Springs Metro No. 1, Denver No. 3, Continental No. 4, Front Range No. 6, Centennial No. 7, Continental No. 10; Region 3 (Jefferson County League host) — Jeffco No. 1, EMAC No. 1, Centennial No. 2, Centennial No. 4, Continental No. 5, Colorado Springs Metro No. 6, Front Range No. 13; Region 4 (Southwestern League host) — Southwestern No. 1, Southwestern No. 2, Southwestern No. 3, Colorado Springs Metro No. 4, Front Range No. 5, Jeffco No. 7, Front Range No. 11; Region 5 (Continental League host) — Continental No. 1, Denver No. 2, Centennial No. 3, Jeffco No. 4, Centennial No. 6, Continental No. 8, Front Range No. 12, Colorado Springs Metro No. 7; Region 6 (Denver League host) — Denver No. 1, Jeffco No. 2, Colorado Springs Metro No. 3, Denver No. 4, Front Range No. 7, Continental No. 9, Continental No. 11, EMAC No. 5; Region 7 (Continental League host) — Continental No. 2, Front Range No. 3, EMAC No. 3, Centennial No. 5, Continental No. 7, Front Range No. 8, Continental No. 12; Region 8 (Front Range host) — Front Range No. 2, Continental No. 3, EMAC No. 2, Jeffco No. 3, Jeffco No. 5, Colorado Springs Metro No. 5, Front Range No. 9

Aurora coaches: Cherokee Trail — Liz Siegel; Eaglecrest — Alex Moore; Grandview — Jeff Ryan; Overland — Arlandus Lowe; Rangeview — Zeb Carabello; Regis Jesuit — Laura Jones; Smoky Hill — Jeff Davis

Aurora players to watch: Luca Abbott, Regis Jesuit, soph.*.; Cameron Bergan, Cherokee Trail, jr.*; Steven Bummer, Regis Jesuit, jr.*; Matthew Chedid, Rangeview, soph.; Trace Collins, Regis Jesuit, sr.*; Jason Cyrus, Grandview, sr.; Truett Davis, Regis Jesuit, sr.*; Alex Elkin, Smoky Hill, sr.; Draden Hoover, Overland, soph.*; Joey Ingolio, Smoky Hill, sr.; Alec Jotte, Regis Jesuit, sr.*; Paul Kim, Overland, jr,.; Max Koszowki, Regis Jesuit, jr..; Tommy Koszowki, Regis Jesuit, jr..; David Lai, Cherokee Trail, jr.*; Erich Nuss, Regis Jesuit, soph*.; Steven Palmer, Grandview, sr.; Chanon Penvari, Regis Jesuit, jr.*; Colin Richardson, Cherokee Trail, jr.*; Joey Robertson, Regis Jesuit, sr.*; Vik Sheverda, Cherokee Trail, sr.*; Connor Thue, Smoky Hill, sr.; Josh Urban, Rangeview, sr.; Rahul Verma, Cherokee Trail, jr.; Ben Warren, Grandview, jr.; Sean Zubieta, Grandview, sr.; Dylan Zumar, Cherokee Trail, soph.*

* — Returning 5A state qualifier

Courtney Oakes is Sports Editor of the Aurora Sentinel. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or sports@aurorasentinel.com. Twitter: @aurorasports. Facebook: Aurora Prep Sentinel

Courtney Oakes is sports Editor and photographer with Sentinel Colorado. A Denver East High School alum. He came to the Sentinel in 2001 and since then has received a number of professional awards from...