Regis Jesuit freshman diver Quinn Henninger finished as the Class 5A state runner-up and earned NISCA All-American honors for the 2018 season as well. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Sentinel)

Regis Jesuit freshman Quinn Henninger and Smoky Hill senior Timothy Domashevich both earned All-American diving honors for the 2018 season from the National Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association (NISCA), which announced its national list of award winners last week.

One hundred divers from across the country met the organization’s criteria for All-American status, including seven from Colorado.

Henninger — who got his beginnings in the same Mile High Dive Club as former Regis Jesuit star Kyle Goodwin, a four-time Class 5A state champion — had an outstanding debut season on the varsity level, starting with his win at the Coaches Invitational.

He capped his freshman season with a runner-up performance at the 5A state swim meet May 19 with a score of 564.60 points that was second only to three-time state champion Octavio Lopez of Bear Creek.

Smoky Hill senior diver Timothy Domashevich earned his first NISCA All-American honors in 2018 after his eighth-place finish at the Class 5A boys state swim meet. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Sentinel)

Domashevich had another strong season as well and earned an eighth-place finish at the state meet with a score of 475.20 points. He was a four-time state placer at the 5A state meet, as he finished 15th as a freshman, eighth as a sophomore and sixth as a junior.

Colorado’s All-American boys diving contingent is rounded out by Lucero, Aric Althouse (Lewis-Palmer), Clayton Chaplin (Highlands Ranch), Caleb Ives (Arapahoe), and Denver South’s Jack Ryan.

Only two Colorado female divers received NISCA All-American honors in Arapahoe’s Fanny Cable and Douglas County’s Samantha Tamborski.

NISCA’s All-American swim honors come out in July.

Courtney Oakes is Sentinel Sports Editor. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or [email protected] Twitter: @aurorasports. FB: Sentinel Prep Sports


Boys: Aric Althouse, sr. (Lewis-Palmer); Clayton Chaplin, fr. (Highlands Ranch); TIMOTHY DOMASHEVICH, SR. (SMOKY HILL); QUINN HENNINGER, FR. (REGIS JESUIT); Caleb Ives, sr. (Arapahoe); Octavio Lucero, sr. (Bear Creek); Jack Ryan, fr. (Denver South)

Girls: Franny Cable, jr. (Arapahoe); Samatha Tamborski, sr. (Douglas County)