Boys Lacrosse: Cherokee Trail moves past Littleton into 2nd round


AURORA | For the second straight season, the Cherokee Trail boys lacrosse team is in the round of 16 of the state playoffs, as the Cougars advanced to the quarterfinals with a 13-9 win over visiting Littleton Friday night at Legacy Stadium.

Cameron Bruckman scored four goals, Simon Fraser and KT Himmelberg had two each and five other players found the back of the net for 11th-seeded Cherokee Trail (13-3), which jumped all over the 22nd-seeded Lions (9-7) with a six-goal first period and rode it to its second all-time playoff victory.

Littleton crept back into the game with a strong third period, but the Cougars held strong in the final period.

Dylan Duresky, Adam Horton, Sterling Huff, Clint Larson and Gage Snowbarger also had goals for Cherokee Trail, while Huff dished out a team-high three assists.

The Cougars won’t know their next opponent until the first round is complete with two games on Saturday. The remaining seeds will be reshuffled and paired against the top eight seeds which had first-round byes.

Two upsets took place in the first round, with 18th-seeded Heritage tripping up 15th-seeded Colorado Academy 11-9 and 17th-seeded Air Academy knocking off No. 16 Cheyenne Mountain 11-6.

Otherwise, the round went to form — No. 9 Castle View took down No. 24 Highlands Ranch 24-7, No. 10 Fort Collins handled No. 23 Evergreen 14-2 and No. 13 Mountain Vista got past No. 20 ThunderRidge 10-8.

On the slate for Saturday is Aurora’s other first-round matchup — No. 21 Smoky Hill at No. 12 Wheat Ridge (3 p.m., Trailblazer Stadium) — and No. 19 Denver East at No. 14 Steamboat Springs at 6 p.m.

Reach Sports Editor Courtney Oakes at [email protected] or 303-750-7555


Score by periods:

Littleton             1  2  4  2 —   9

Cherokee Trail  6  3  1  3 — 13

Goals — Littleton: Max Segal 4, Jack Director 3, Will Dommermuth, Riley Harden; Cherokee Trail: Cameron Bruckman 4, Simon Fraser 2, KT Himmelberg 2, Dylan Duresky, Adam Horton, Sterling Huff, Clint Larson, Gage Snowbarger. Assists — Littleton: Director 2, Julian Allen, Davis Cassio, Connor Clarry, Riley Herges, Stephen McDavid, Segal; Cherokee Trail: Huff 3, Bruckman.