AURORA | Centennial League boys golfers wrapped up a five-tournament conference slate Tuesday at Fitzsimons Golf Course.

Cherry Creek won the final tournament by 10 strokes, putting the finishing touches on its seventh consecutive league championship.

The Bruins finished 15 strokes ahead of Arapahoe, which was third in the Fitzsimons tournament, a stroke behind Grandview for second place.

The Wolves — whose victory at South Suburban G.C. on Sept. 6 marked their first league tournament victory since 2006 — finished an Aurora-best third in the final standings, behind Arapahoe and in front of Mullen, the third-place team from 2011.

Aurora teams netted just one spot on the nine-man All-Centennial League team, as Grandview junior Devyn Solano finished with a 32.42 points, good enough for fourth overall. Just outside the top 10 was Solano’s teammate Randy Urso, who was 12th with 28.05 points after missing the first league tournament.

Smoky Hill senior Joey Cleveland — who shot a 72 to tie for second in the final tournament — came in 13th, followed by Cherokee Trail’s Ben Knapp in 14th.

The Centennial League teams assemble again on Sept. 17 at part of the 14-team field of the Class 5A Metro East Regional, which is scheduled for noon at CommonGround Golf Course.

Reach Sports Editor Courtney Oakes at or 303-750-7555


Sept. 11 at Fitzsimons G.C., Aurora

Team scores: 1. Cherry Creek 290, 2. Grandview 300, 3. Arapahoe 301, 4. Cherokee Trail 308, T5. Smoky Hill 314, T5. Mullen 314; 7. Eaglecrest 373, Overland no score

Top 10 individuals: 1. Will Matthews (Cherry Creek) 70; T2. Joey Cleveland (Smoky Hill) 72; T2. Max Urman (Cherry Creek) 72; T4. Randy Urso (Grandview) 73; T4. Kyle Taylor (Arapahoe) 73; T4. Jackson Burke (Cherry Creek) 73; T7. Devyn Solano (Grandview) 74; T7. Ben Knapp (Cherokee Trail) 74; T7. Mitch Nevin (Cherokee Trail) 74; T10. Shane Pouilot (Grandview) 75; T10. Kobe Padilla (Cherry Creek) 75; T10. Russell Otten (Arapahoe) 75

Aurora scores by team

Cherokee Trail: Ben Knapp 74; Mitch Nevin 74; Ben John 79; Zach Goldsmith 81; Alex Anderson 83; Eaglecrest: Justin Tyler 88; Alejandro Torres 91; Jeff Sternisha 96; Isaiah Dixon 98; Joel Jack 99; Grandview: Randy Urso 73; Devyn Solano 74; Shane Pouliot 75; Kyle Carr 78; Chad Tam 79; Overland: Joe Slocum 83; Mac Dings 84; Von Owen 85; Smoky Hill: Joey Cleveland 72; Jackson Ross 77; Mitch Robben 79; Blake Spencer 86; Joe Klotz 87

Other scores by team

Arapahoe: Kyle Taylor 73; Russell Otten 75; Sam Marley 76; Justin Goldsberry 77; Henry Schaefer 80; Cherry Creek: Will Matthews 70; Max Urman 72; Jackson Burke 73; Kobe Padilla 75; Cole Edwards 76; Mullen: Trevor McKune 76; Grant Vanek 77; Alex Havey 80; CJ Lauer 81; Evan Redd 83

FINAL CENTENNIAL LEAGUE STANDINGS (through five tournaments)

1. Cherry Creek 1,495; 2. Arapahoe 1,507; 3. Grandview 1,546; 4. Mullen 1,559; 5. Smoky Hill 1,613; 6. Cherokee Trail 1,614 7. Eaglecrest 1,880; 8. Overland no score


Max Urman (Cherry Creek), 38.21 points; Trevor McKune (Mullen), 34.42; Kyle Taylor (Arapahoe), 33.91; Devyn Solano (Grandview), 32.42; Grant Vanek (Mullen), 31.21; Henry Schaefer (Arapahoe), 30.21; Jackson Burke (Cherry Creek), 29.91; Cole Edwards (Cherry Creek), 29.42; Sam Marley (Arapahoe), 29.42

Courtney Oakes is sports Editor and photographer with Sentinel Colorado. A Denver East High School alum. He came to the Sentinel in 2001 and since then has received a number of professional awards from...