AURORA | Local players got off to a strong start to Centennial League play with their performances in Thursday’s league opener at Meadow Hills G.C.

Three days after all the teams competed against each other at the Cherry Creek Invitational (see story, here), they got to together for the first of five tournaments that will decide league honors as well as ultimately the destination of each team for regional state-qualifying play.

Eaglecrest sophomore Gregory White claimed individual medalist honors for the tournament with a round of even-par 70, which put him one stroke in front of Cherokee Trail sophomore Dalton Sisneros and Cherry Creek’s Andre Dumonteil.

White (who tied for third place at the Cherry Creek Invitational) made birdies on his first and last holes of the day — with three more in between — and sealed the victory with a birdie on the par-4 Hole No. 18.

Coach Jason Leclaire’s Cherokee Trail team finished a shot behind Cherry Creek in the previous tournament, but finished six shots clear of the Bruins this time as its top four players all finished in the top 10.

Sisneros shot 71 for the second straight tournament — the first time earned him a share of first place and this time put him second — as he played a round that included three birdies. Sophomore Brayden Forte played even through his first 13 holes until he lost four strokes on Holes No. 14 and 15, then made two birdies in his last three holes to charge back into a tie for fourth. Junior Christopher O’Donnell and senior Hunter Peffer shot 76 and 77, respectively, to round out the Cougars’ scores.

Fifth-place Grandview got its top result from senior Michael Rosman, who carded a 78 to tie for 12th, while sixth-place Eaglecrest — which played again without returning state qualifier Noah Bennett — got its second-best score (an 81) from senior Jackson Atencio.

Smoky Hill saw freshman Reece Nuwash tied for 12th with a 78, while Overland’s only entry — sophomore Julian Parker — shot 99 to tie for 32nd.

The second Centennial League tournament is scheduled for Aug. 14 at South Suburban G.C.

Courtney Oakes is Sentinel Colorado Sports Editor. Reach him at Twitter/X: @aurorasports. IG: Sentinel Prep Sports

2023 Centennial League Boys Golf Tournament No. 1

Aug. 10 at Meadow Hills G.C.

Team scores: 1. CHEROKEE TRAIL 296; 2. Cherry Creek 302; 3. Mullen 316; 4. Arapahoe 317; 5. GRANDVIEW 332; 6. EAGLECREST 338; 7. SMOKY HILL 345; OVERLAND NS

Top 10 individuals (par 70): 1. GREGORY WHITE (EAGLECREST) 70; T2. DALTON SISNEROS (CHEROKEE TRAIL) 71; T2. Andre Dumonteil (Cherry Creek) 71; T4. BRAYDEN FORTE (CHEROKEE TRAIL) 72; T4. Mac Buckley (Arapahoe) 72; 6. Pratham Parmar (Cherry Creek) 75; T7. CHRISTOPHER O’DONNELL (CHEROKEE TRAIL) 76; T7. Ryan Brady (Mullen) 76; T9. HUNTER PEFFER (CHEROKEE TRAIL) 77; T9. Jack Newton (Mullen) 77; T9. Cooper Oatman (Mullen) 77

Aurora team-by-team results (in order of finish)

Cherokee Trail (296): T2. Dalton Sisneros 71; T4. Brayden Forte 72; T7. Christopher O’Donnell 76; T9. Hunter Peffer 77; T32. Braydon O’Neill 99; Grandview (332): T12. Michael Rosman 78; T17. Andy Blake 80; T24. Dominik Fedotov 87; T24. Nick Scott 87; T28. Andrew Sinar 89; Eaglecrest (338): 1. Gregory White 70; 19. Jackson Atencio 81; T21. Jack Barkley 84; 34. Christian Palumbo 103; 35. Collin Gilmore 107; Smoky Hill (345): T12. Reece Nuwash 78; T21. Hudson Roth 84; T28. Conner Daniel 89; 31. Charles Newton 94; Overland (NS): T32. Julian Parker 99

Other team-by-team results (in order of finish)

Cherry Creek (302): T2. Andre Dumonteil 71; 6. Pratham Parmar 75; T12. Karthik Ashokprabhu 78; T12. Dalton Schwartz 78; 20. Max Mackiernan 83; XTR — Wyatt Isgrig 71; XTR — Henry Starr 79; Mullen (316): T7. Ryan Brady 76; T9. Jack Newton 77; T9. Cooper Oatman 77; 23. John Matthew Sedbrook 86; T24. Ben Medina 87; Arapahoe (317): T4. Mac Buckley 72; T12. Hogan David 78; T17. Owen Gilley 80; T24. Ethan Sakry 87; 30. Brock Moody 90

Courtney Oakes is sports Editor and photographer with Sentinel Colorado. A Denver East High School alum. He came to the Sentinel in 2001 and since then has received a number of professional awards from...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *