Baseball: 2016 All-EMAC teams

Rangeview senior shortstop Josh Schumacher earned East Metro Athletic Conference Player of the Year recognition for the 2016 baseball season. Schumacher hit a league-best .521 and drove in an EMAC-high 34 runs for the Raiders, who went 12-8 and made it to the Class 5A district playoffs. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Aurora Sentinel)

AURORA | The following is a look at the players from the Aurora teams (Aurora Central, Gateway, Hinkley and Rangeview) and others who were voted all-conference first and second teams and honorable mention in the East Metro Athletic Conference for their play during the 2016 baseball season:

Courtney Oakes is Sports Editor of the Aurora Sentinel. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or [email protected] Twitter: @aurorasports. FB: Aurora Prep Sentinel

Gateway senior Dylan Paulsen (2) not only tied the Class 5A state record with 33 stolen bases during the 2016 baseball season, he homered twice and drove in 15 runs for the Olys on his way to All-EMAC first team honors. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Aurora Sentinel)



Aurora selections: GATEWAY — Dylan Paulsen (outfield), sr.; RANGEVIEW — Thomas Rutherford (pitcher) and Josh Schumacher (infield), sr.

Other selections: ADAMS CITY — Narcisco Quezada (DH), jr. and Jacob Rodriguez (outfield), sr.; BRIGHTON — Jacob Demers (infield), sr., Liam Eddy (pitcher), jr., Cole Farmer (catcher), sr., Gavin Gifford (infield), sr., Danny Prickett (DH), sr. and Jose Treto (utility), jr.; NORTHGLENN — Zach Hardman (pitcher), jr., Hector Maynez (infield), sr., Nate Swanson (catcher), jr. and Izaiah Zaragoza (outfield), sr.; PRAIRIE VIEW — Evan Bolin (catcher), sr., Zach Massey (outfield), sr., Johnny Ramirez (pitcher), sr., Josh Sanchez (pitcher), jr. and Parker Valentine (infield), sr.; WESTMINSTER — Razzo Vigil (infield), jr.

Player of the Year: Josh Schumacher, Rangeview. Coach of the Year: John Thanos, Prairie View.

Senior Agustin Vasquez represents Aurora Central on the All-EMAC second team for the 2016 baseball season. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Aurora Sentinel)


Aurora selections: AURORA CENTRAL — Agustin Vasquez (pitcher), sr.; GATEWAY — Austin Prince (DH), sr.; HINKLEY — Aron Castrejon (catcher), jr.; RANGEVIEW — Edgar Castaneda (infield), sr., Gonzalo Luevano (DH), sr. and CJ Peacock (outfield), soph.

Other selections: ADAMS CITY —  Octavio Granillo (infield), soph. and Erik Gomez (pitcher), sr.; BRIGHTON — Alex Covorubias (pitcher), sr., Eric LaRue (pitcher), jr. and Guerin Szafraniec (outfield), soph.; NORTHGLENN — Manny Rivera (infield), sr. and Travis Sargent (infield), sr.; PRAIRIE VIEW — Marcus Cordova (outfield), jr., Nick Hackney (infield), jr. and Lucas Torres (utility), sr.; WESTMINSTER — Gavin Atkinson (utility), sr. and Miguel Palos (catcher), jr.

Hinkley junior catcher Aron Castrejon landed a spot on the All-EMAC second team for the 2016 baseball season. (Photo by Courtney Oakes/Aurora Sentinel)


Aurora selections: HINKLEY — Jose Almos (pitcher), sr., Anthony Chavez (pitcher & infield), jr. and Jesus Martinez (utility), fr.; RANGEVIEW — Thomas Rutherford (outfield), sr.

Other selections: ADAMS CITY — Marco Cabral (catcher), jr., Braulio Meza (utility), soph. and Israel Munoz (infield), jr.; BRIGHTON —  Cody Beck (infield), jr.; NORTHGLENN — Zach Hardman (infield), jr. and Hector Maynez (pitcher), sr.; PRAIRIE VIEW — Lucas Torres (infield), sr.; WESTMINSTER — Gavin Atkinson (infield), sr.