DENVER | Four Aurora boys basketball players and two girls players get to let loose on the Pepsi Center court Saturday during The Show all-star games.

In the first two games of a prep-pro hoops tripleheader, 20 of the top prep girls players from across the state will take the floor at 1:30 p.m., followed by 20 of the top prep boys at 3 p.m. The Denver Nuggets play the Los Angeles Clippers later at 7 p.m.

Among the group of girls selected by Nuggets officials and a panel of sportswriters and sportcasters from around the state are Grandview sophomore Michaela Onyenwere — the Most Valuable Player of last season’s Show — and Regis Jesuit senior Jess Lewis.

Senior guard Austin Conway of Class 5A state champion Overland is set to play for the Gold Team, while a trio of players from Eaglecrest’s semifinal squad — seniors Blend Avdili and Elijah Ross and sophomore Colbey Ross — will go against Conway as part of the Blue Team.

Overland junior center De’Ron Davis also earned selection to The Show for a third straight season, but is unable to play as he is in Arkansas with his club team, the Colorado Hawks.

The MVP for both prep games will be honored at halftime of the Nuggets game.

Follow @aurorasports on Twitter for live game updates.

Courtney Oakes is Sports Editor of the Aurora Sentinel. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or Twitter: @aurorasports. FB: Aurora Prep Sentinel


BLUE TEAM: BLEND AVDILI, EAGLECREST; Justin Bassey, Colorado Academy; Brian Carey, Denver East; Chuck Gavin, Denver South; Grant Harkness, Faith Christian; Malik Hart, Montbello; Kadyn Hicks, Highland; Zach Pirog, ThunderRidge; COLBEY ROSS, EAGLECREST; ELIJAH ROSS, EAGLECREST; Coach: Andrew Hasz, Faith Christian

GOLD TEAM: AUSTIN CONWAY, OVERLAND; Jake Holtzmann, Chaparral; Justinian Jessup, Longmont; Chris Moody, Chaparral; Thomas Neff, Arvada West; Donovan Oldham, Rampart; Ryan Quaid, Fossil Ridge; Mike Ranson, Pueblo Central; Tanner Smith, Jim Elliot Christian; Michael Sparks, Abraham Lincoln; Coach: Brad Ranson, Pueblo Central

* — DE’RON DAVIS, OVERLAND, selected by unable to play due to prior commitment


BLUE TEAM: Cassidy Budge, Rampart; Jennah Knafelc, Arapahoe; Sarah Logar, Peyton; MICHAELA ONYENWERE, GRANDVIEW; Jon’Nae Richardson, Denver East; Molly Rohrer, Cherry Creek; Raegen Rohn, Monarch; Haley Simental, Pueblo West; Courtney Smith, Legacy; Jenn Urbaniak, Palmer; Coach: Jerry Knafelc, Arapahoe

GOLD TEAM: Nicole Archambeau, Canon City; Sydni Brandon, Grand Junction; Brenna Chase, Broomfield; Callie Kaiser, Broomfield; JESS LEWIS, REGIS JESUIT; Kaleigh Paplow, Lutheran; Brooke Pemberton, Fossil Ridge; Taylor Rusk, ThunderRidge; Kylee Shook, Mesa Ridge; Jordan Williams, Norwood; Coach: Paula Krueger, ThunderRidge

* — Alyssa Rader, Horizon, selected by unable to play due to injury

Courtney Oakes is sports Editor and photographer with Sentinel Colorado. A Denver East High School alum. He came to the Sentinel in 2001 and since then has received a number of professional awards from...