AURORA | The annual A-Town All-Star Games for Aurora’s best and brightest boys and girls basketball players — presented by Sentinel Colorado — is scheduled to be held on Saturday, March 21, beginning at noon at Gateway High School.

The 20-player rosters for the girls and boys games — as selected by the Sentinel based on the nominations/voting of city coaches —  are being finalized.

The A-Town All-Star boys game is in its fifth season after it was played for the first time at Aurora Central in 2016, followed by Cherokee Trail (2017), Rangeview (2018) and Smoky Hill (2019). The A-Town All-Star girls game is in its fourth season.

The rotation between Aurora schools Aurora Public Schools and Cherry Creek Schools brings it this year to Gateway, which refurbished its entire gymnasium over the summer and dedicated its new-look court to Jeff Sweet, the school’s all-time winningest coach.

Dunk and 3-point shooting contests are scheduled in between games.

Doors will open at 11 a.m. and ticket prices will be $5 for both games.

A-Town All-Stars

Courtney Oakes is Sentinel Colorado Sports Editor. Reach him at 303-750-7555 or Twitter: @aurorasports. IG: Sentinel Prep Sports


AURORA | Information for the 5th A-Town All-Stars boys and 4th A-Town All-Stars girls games presented by Sentinel Colorado:


WHAT: Fifth A-Town All-Stars boys basketball game, fourth girls game

WHEN: Noon (girls) and 2 p.m. (boys), Saturday, March 21

WHERE: Gateway High School (Main Gym)

WHO: Twenty of Aurora’s top boys and girls players from 11 city prep programs (Aurora Central, Cherokee Trail, Eaglecrest, Gateway, Grandview, Hinkley, Overland, Rangeview, Regis Jesuit, Smoky Hill and Vista PEAK) from the Aurora Public Schools and Cherry Creek Schools along with Regis Jesuit High School as selected by Sentinel based on nominations and voting of city coaches

TICKETS: $5 at the door on game day, doors open at 11 a.m.


Courtney Oakes is sports Editor and photographer with Sentinel Colorado. A Denver East High School alum. He came to the Sentinel in 2001 and since then has received a number of professional awards from...