Three months later than in a typical season due to the coronavirus pandemic, the state spirit championships are set to be contested Thursday and Friday at the World Arena in Colorado Springs.

Aurora schools will be present in a variety of categories — 4A/5A Gameday, 5A and 4A Cheer, 5A Poms, Hip-Hop and Jazz — and will compete sporadically over the course of two tightly-packed days in an event that usually spans three days.

Aurora Central, Cherokee Trail, Eaglecrest, Grandview, Hinkley, Overland, Rangeview, Regis Jesuit, Smoky Hill and Vista PEAK all have at least one entry in the meet, which began at 8 a.m. Thursday and ends with the crowning of the final set of champions around 7 p.m. Friday.

According to CHSAA records, Grandview is tied for the most all-time spirit championships with 12 (a total shared by Ponderosa), with the last one coming in 2018 in the 5A Cheer category.

Just one off that pace is Eaglecrest, which had its total boosted to 11 with two titles when the state meet was last contested — back in December of 2019 — when the Raptors topped the field in 5A Cheer and Hip-Hop.

Cherokee Trail also won the Jazz category in 2019.


March 25-26 at World Arena, Colorado Springs


4A/5A GAMEDAY: Rangeview, 9:14 a.m.
4A/5A GAMEDAY: Regis Jesuit, 10:56 a.m.
4A/5A GAMEDAY: Overland, 11:04 a.m.
4A/5A GAMEDAY: Smoky Hill, 11:57 a.m.

Finalists announced 12:56 p.m., finals begin 1:31 p.m., champions announced 2:52 p.m.

5A CHEER: Hinkley, 6:04 p.m.
5A CHEER: Vista PEAK, 6:30 p.m.
5A CHEER: Grandview, 7:04 p.m.
5A CHEER: Cherokee Trail, 7:10 p.m.
5A CHEER: Eaglecrest, 7:50 p.m.
4A CHEER: Aurora Central, 8:21 p.m.

Finalists announced, 8:44 p.m.; finals begin 9:19 p.m., champions announced 10:11 p.m.


5A POMS: Grandview, 12:06 p.m.
5A POMS: Smoky Hill, 12:21 p.m.
5A POMS: Regis Jesuit, 12:27 p.m.
5A POMS: Rangeview, 1 p.m.

Finalists announced 2:05 p.m., finals begin 2:40 p.m., champions announced 3:27 p.m.

HIP-HOP: Eaglecrest, 4:14 p.m.
HIP-HOP: Overland, 4:24 p.m.
JAZZ: Cherokee Trail, 4:50 p.m.

Finalists announced 5:36 p.m., finals begin 6:11 p.m., champions announced 6:53 p.m.

Sports Editor Courtney Oakes