Eaglecrest seeks nominations for second class of Athletics & Activities Hall of Fame


With one glittering class inducted, Eaglecrest High School is looking for nominations for the second class of its Athletics & Activities Hall of Fame.

To celebrate its 25th anniversary, the school established the Hall of Fame to recognize the best and brightest from the school’s history in athletics and other activities (music, drama, student leadership, etc.) and is looking for the community to nominate selections to be part of a yet-to-be-determined number of selections for the second class.


Candidates must have graduated from Eaglecrest at least five years ago, earned all-state or other accolades in their respective sports or activities and “be of high moral character, outstanding citizenship and the ideals embodied in the mission of Eaglecrest High School that includes the building of character, promoting cooperation and achieving excellence.”

Coaches, administrators and volunteers connected with the school are also eligible for nomination and consideration.

Click here or find the EHS Hall of Fame tab on the Eaglecrest Activities & Athletics home page to download the nomination form and email completed form to athletic director Vince Orlando at [email protected] by Sept. 1.

A panel of current and past Eaglecrest personnel, representation from school parents and the community and one media member, Aurora Sentinel Sports Editor Courtney Oakes, selected the first class of six — athletes Ben Baum, J.J. Billingsley, Damian Brown, Stacey Jennings and Tara Mendozza (DeCrescentis) and Broadway actor Andy Kelso — who were recognized at the inaugural induction ceremony last December at Blackstone Country Club.

Eaglecrest High School opened in 1990 and owns five Class 5A state championships: Football (1993), Boys Track & Field (2002), Softball (2005), Volleyball (2006) and most recently, Boys Basketball (2013) and also dominated the state in cheer under current principal Gwen Hansen-Vigil in the mid-1990s and early 2000s.

— Sports Editor Courtney Oakes