VOTE 2020: Democrats upsetting 2 Arapahoe County GOP commission seats


County Race 
District 1 Commissioner
REP: Kathleen Conti
District 1 Commissioner
DEM: Carrie Warren-Gully
District 1 Commissioner
LIB: Joshua Lallement
District 3 Commissioner
DEM: Idris Keith
District 3 Commissioner
REP: Jeff Baker
District 5 Commissioner
DEM: Bill Holen
District 5 Commissioner
REP: Jim Parker
District 5 Commissioner
LIB: Kathryn Martin

AURORA | A pair of races for seats on the Arapahoe County board of commissioners were leaning away from Republican incumbents and toward Democratic newcomers by Wednesday morning, signaling what could be a significant change to the composition of the historically conservative entity.

As of Wednesday, Democratic business attorney Idris Keith was edging Republican Jeff Baker in the contest for the sprawling district that runs from Aurora to Deer Trail. Keith held about a 900 vote lead over the incumbent. 

In the county’s southern district three, current Littleton Public Schools Board of Education director Carrie Warren-Gully is leading incumbent Kathleen Conti by about 9,000 votes, or nearly 14 percentage points. 

Incumbent Democrat Bill Holen maintains a sizable lead over Republican Jim Parker, who was listed on county ballots but was not identified as an active candidate on the state’s campaign finance portal last month. 

If the leads for Keith and Warren-Gully hold, the traditionally conservative body would consist of four Democrats and only one Republican. The two commissioners not up for re-election this cycle, Nancy Jackson and Nancy Sharpe, are Democratic and Republican, respectively. 

A former state representative, Conti is seeking her second four-year term. A longtime county employee, Baker is also seeking a second term. 

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments